MusicDish e-Journal - December 15, 2018
MusicDish Advertising Network
Search MusicDish e-Journal (Advanced)
Subscribe To MusicDish e-Journal
About | Contact | Advertise | RSS | Submit Article | Submit News | Artist Development | Premium PR Distribution
Mi2N | MusicDish*China | MusicDish Network | MusicDishTV | Urban Music News Network

Best Of The Batch: Motley Crue
Red, White & Crue
By MuzikMan
(more articles from this author)
Comment | Email | Print | RSS

Artist: Motley Crue
Title: Red, White & Crue
Genre: Rock-Metal
Label: Hip-O
Download: “Kickstart My Heart”
Kickstart My Heart

There were not a lot of ‘80s hair bands that made a huge impact like Motley Crue, Guns n’ Roses comes to mind, but that is about it. They actually reminded me of Axel Rose and the boys quite a bit. The final proof is in this career retrospective Red, White & Crue. This generous two-disc set is a great overview of a relatively short stay at the top for the original bad boys of rock. It seems as though their offstage antics have garnered them more acclaim than their music. Perhaps this set will change that focus, and the fact that they have reformed to back this release with a full-blown tour will lend more credence to their musical legacy rather than all the celebrated escapades away from the recording studio. They never left the spotlight and stayed in the media one way or another since their recording careers started to calm down so this was not bad timing at all to reignite the old flames.

To be perfectly honest, I was never a fan of this band. It’s a generation gap thing. I remember one song, “Girls, Girls, Girls,” that is the extent of it. I certainly recall hearing a lot about this crazy bunch during the height of their popularity and never would have imagined that I would enjoy their music so much as I did while listening to this great collection. They were ballsy, gritty, and more simply, a great rock ‘n’ roll band.

I liked the covers of the Beatles’ “Helter Skelter” and the Sex Pistols’ “Anarchy in the UK” (Johnny Rotten would be proud), however the cover of the Rolling Stones classic “Street Fighting Man” is horrendous, not a real good way to end this set at all. Out of the 37 tracks offered up, that is only one that I did not care for. Not a bad ratio at all considering that there were that many tracks.

The three new tracks are "If I Die Tomorrow," "Sick Love Song," and "Street Fighting Man."

I have to thank the boys, you sure know how to “Kickstart My Heart.” This is badass rock at its best, buy it and crank it.


CD 1

01. Live Wire (3:15)
02. Piece of Your Action (4:40)
03. Toast of the Town (3:32)
04. Too Fast for Love (3:21)
05. Black Widow (4:26)
06. Looks That Kill (4:08)
07. Too Young to Fall in Love [Remix] (3:38)
08. Helter Skelter (3:12)
09. Shout at the Devil (3:14)
10. Smokin' in the Boys Room (3:27)
11. Use It or Lose It (2:38)
12. Girls, Girls, Girls (4:29)
13. Wild Side (4:38)
14. You're All I Need (4:34)
15. All in the Name of... (3:40)
16. Kickstart My Heart (4:43)
17. Without You (4:29)
18. Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away) (4:40)
19. Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.) (4:14)
20. Dr. Feelgood (4:48)

CD 2

21. Anarchy in the UK (3:21)
22. Primal Scream (4:47)
23. Home Sweet Home ['91 Remix] (4:02)
24. Hooligan's Holiday (5:20)
25. Misunderstood (4:58)
26. Planet Boom (3:23)
27. Bittersuite (3:19)
28. Afraid (4:08)
29. Beauty (3:46)
30. Generation Swine (4:40)
31. Bitter Pill (4:26)
32. Enslaved (4:30)
33. Hell on High Heels (4:16)
34. New Tattoo [Single Version] (4:02)
35. If I Die Tomorrow (3:41)
36. Sick Love Song (4:18)
37. Street Fighting Man (3:30)

For more information and to contact the author, click on the author’s name at the top of the page.

Home » Open Review » Best Of The Batch: Motley Crue
Email |Print |Comment |RSS

back | top

MusicDish Advertising Network

Open Review

» MusicDish Review: Kenn Rowell Music Video "It's Good To Be Back"

» MusicDish Music Video Review: "CPR (Start Again)" by Metaract

» Rapper Produkt Releases Inspiring Music Video For His Single "Daddy Was A Dope Boy"

» Kylie Marcus Combines Of Funk And R&B With "Yellow Shirt"

» Searching For Sugar Man: Story Of A Forgotten Prodigy

Open Review Directory

» [2018-09-16] Live Nation Electronic Asia Inks Deal With Budweiser For Creamfields Festivals; Together, Creamfields And Budweiser Will Focus On Building Entirely New Content For Dedicated Electronic Music Fans Throughout Asia

» [2018-08-23] Andy Ma Appointed Warner Music China CEO; Andy Ma Has Also Been Appointed EVP, Commercial And Business Development For Greater China

» [2018-08-23] IndieOn Connects Music To The Blockchain; IndieOn Is Confident Of Creating A "music Miner" Who Listens More And Grow Their Token Value

» [2018-06-23] The 2018 MIDEM Silk Road International Music Alliance Signing; International Music Industries Signing Of A Mutual Resource Sharing Agreement With Shanghai Conservatory Of Music & The China Records Group

» [2018-06-06] Screen Music Connect To Explore The Music Of Film, Television And Interactive Media; Created By James Hannigan, Award-winning Composer And Game Music Connect Co-founder, Screen Music Connect Builds On The Success Of The Sold-out Game Music Conferences

» [2018-06-05] Fred Casimir To Develop BMG's Global Recordings Business; As Well As Building BMG's European Infrastructure, Casimir Was Instrumental In Developing BMG's Recordings Business

» [2018-06-03] 13 Music Label Sold To MTN; DSN Music Spins Off Record Label To Albuquerque Music Entrepreneur's New Group

» [2018-06-02] CISAC 2018 Annual Report; A Comprehensive Overview Of The Confederation's Work To Serve 4 Million Creators And 239 Authors Societies Across The World

» [2018-06-02] MusicDish Announces A Love Electric 2018 China Tour; The Tour Will Crisscross Through China With 12 Shows In 8 Cities, Including Guangzhou, Dongguan, Zhuhai, Shenzhen, Kunming, Jiaxin, Wuhan And Beijing

» [2018-06-02] Darcus Beese Named President Of Island Records; Renowned U.K. Music Executive To Join Universal Music Group's U.S. Label Leadership

» [2018-05-17] Avant-Garde Label Maybe Noise Launches In Beijing; The Official Launch Will Be On May 26 At Magnet Theater With A Performance Supporting Its First Vinyl Release: Píng Zè

» [2018-05-04] Award-Winning Lithuanian Rock Band Colours Of Bubbles "She Is The Darkness" 2018 China Tour; The Tour Will Kickoff In Shanghai Where The Band Will Represent Lithuania During The Country's Signing To The Silk Road Music Alliance
MusicDish Advertising Network

follow MusicDish on
Follow MusicDish on Twitter

Mi2N Music PR

Christian Artist Katie Garibaldi Releases New Music Video For Christmastime


Talented Hip-hop Act, Jon Clawd, Announces The Release Of His First Body Of Works Titled "Fried Fish And Moonshine"

New EP Release From Jazzy Sky - 'Breakfast'

Esoteric Recordings To Release BE-BOP DELUXE "SUNBURST FINISH" 3CD/1DVD Limited Edition Deluxe Boxed Set - November 23, 2018

Cinq Music Partners With Rock Group TRAPT, Drops New Single

Worship Artist XAVIER JOLLIFF Inks Management Deal With The Management Agency (TMA)

Websites: Mi2N | MusicDish*China | MusicDish Network | MusicDishTV | Urban Music News Network
Services: Submit Article | Submit News | Submit Video | Artist Development | Premium PR Distribution

Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC., all rights reserved.
About MusicDish e-Journal | Contact Us | Advertise | RSS | Internships