National Endowment For The Arts Invites Nominations For Jazz Masters Fellowships
Deadline: January 31, 2006

By MusicDish [12-05-2005]

National Endowment for the Arts Invites Nominations for Jazz Masters Fellowships

Deadline: January 31, 2006

The National Endowment for the Arts' ( ) Jazz Masters Fellowships are the highest honors that America bestows upon jazz musicians.

Selection criteria for NEA Jazz Masters include the excellence and significance of the nominees' contributions to the development and performance of jazz. Each year, the endowment will honor musicians who represent a range of styles and instruments in a range of categories (e.g., rhythm instrumentalist, pianist, solo instrumentalist, vocalist, arranger or composer).

In addition, one fellowship will be awarded to a jazz advocate -- i.e., an individual who has made a major contribution to the appreciation, knowledge, and advance- ment of the American jazz art form.

The award in each fellowship category is $25,000.

NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships are not open to application. Instead, fellowships are awarded to living individuals on the basis of nominations from the public, including the jazz community. Recipients of Jazz Masters Fellowships must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States. Posthumous fellowships will not be awarded.

An individual may submit only one nomination per nominating round. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Complete program information and nomination guidelines are available at the NEA Web site.

RFP Link:

For additional RFPs in Arts and Culture, visit:


Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC., all rights reserved.
About MusicDish e-Journal | Contact Us | Advertise | RSS | Internships